Board of Directors

Open Board Seat:

Want to make a differance and support HIRE education?
Manhattan Tech is looking for a new board member to join the team! Apply Today! 

Apply Today! 

Manhattan Tech is governed by a nine-member board with representatives from Clay, Geary, Pottawatomie and Riley Counties and one at-large member. Board members serve a four year term with approximately one-half of the seats being reappointed every two years. Reappointment of the members is accomplished by means of a sub-committee interview process.

As allowed under the Kansas Open Meetings Act, there will be no public comment periods held during Manhattan Area Technical College Board meetings.

Questions should be directed to the Board Clerk.


Clay County





Geary County

  • William K. Allen (Will)

    • Board Member

    William K. Allen (Will), is a native of Charlottesville, Virginia. He joined the United States Army 02 April 1985 as a Combat Engineer. He conducted One Station Training at Fort Leonard Wood MO and attended Airborne School at Fort Benning GA. Upon completion of his training he was shipped to...

Riley County

  • David Urban

    • Board Member

    David Urban is a Senior Vice President of Commercial Banking at Landmark National Bank. David is a 1983 graduate of Kansas State University receiving his B.S. Degree in Agricultural Economics and is a 2001 graduate of the University Of Colorado Graduate School Of Banking. He has 36 years of...

  • Brett Ballou

    • Board Chair

    Brett Ballou grew up in Salina, Kansas being exposed to the construction industry. His grandfather and father owned and operated an asphalt paving business. Many of their summer vacations were spent touring road projects all over Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas. Deciding vertical construction was more...

  • Mike Matson

    Mike Matson

    • Board Member

    Mike Matson is Director of External Affairs for the Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce. Born in Manhattan, Mike grew up in Rooks County and Wichita. His professional career has encompassed journalism, politics/government and advocacy.

  • John Armbrust

    • Board Member


Pottawatomie County

  • Tim Flanary

    • Board Vice Chair

    Tim is originally from Montana and moved to Kansas at a young age. Attended school in North Central Kansas and Vo-Tech at Beloit. I moved to the Wamego area in 1980 to begin my career as an electrician for KP&L at the Jeffrey Energy Center. Retiring in 2018 from Westar Energy after a 33 year...

  • Heather Peterson

    Heather Peterson

    • Board Member

    Heather is originally from Omaha, NE and came to Manhattan to attend Kansas State University where she obtained a Masters of Architecture degree. She has been practicing architecture in north east Kansas for over a decade and became a partner at Anderson Knight Architects in April 2023. Heather’s...